Early Learning RI


The Rhode Island Early Learning Council was formed in June 2010 with the goal of ensuring that Rhode Island children from birth to age eight have access to high quality early learning experiences in a variety of settings. The appointment of a state advisory council on young children’s early learning and development is required by federal law. Members are appointed by the Governor of Rhode Island.


  • Angélica Infante-Green, Commissioner, Rhode Island Department of Education
  • Courtney Hawkins, Director, Rhode Island Department of Human Services
  • Elizabeth Burke Bryant, Executive Director, Rhode Island KIDS COUNT



  • Nicole Alexander-Scott, M.D., RI Department of Health
  • Blythe Berger, RI Department of Health
  • Eileen Botelho, RI Department of Education
  • Kristine Campagna, RI Department of Health
  • Patty Carbone, RI Child Care Directors Association
  • Joseph Carr, RI Department of Children, Youth and Families
  • Donna Chartier, Family Child Care Homes of Rhode Island
  • Terese Curtin, Connecting for Children and Families
  • Veronica Davis, RI Department of Children, Youth and Families
  • Patti DiCenso, Pawtucket Public Schools
  • Susan Dickstein, RI Association for Infant Mental Health
  • Lisa DiMartino, RI Foundation
  • Maryann Finamore, Early Childhood Consultant
  • Alexandra Flores, Family Child Care Union/SEIU
  • Rachel Flum, Economic Progress Institute
  • Ruth Gallucci, RI Department of Education
  • Leslie Gell, Ready to Learn Providence
  • Robyn Giragosian, Parent
  • Cara Harrison, Office of Governor Gina Raimondo
  • Tanya Helm, RI Teachers of English Language Learners
  • Pam High, M.D., Hasbro Children’s Hospital
  • Lisa Hildebrand, RI Association for the Education of Young Children/BrightStars
  • Colleen Jermain, Newport Public Schools
  • Jennifer Kaufman, RI Executive Office of Health and Human Services
  • Cindy Larson, LISC/RI Child Care and Early Learning Facilities Fund
  • Khadija Lewis Khan, Beautiful Beginnings Child Care Center
  • Phyllis Lynch, RI Department of Education
  • Patricia Martinez, Central Falls Public Schools
  • Deborah Masland, Early Intervention Interagency Coordinating Council
  • Karen McCurdy, University of Rhode Island
  • Aimee Mitchell, RI Head Start Association
  • Caitlin Molina, RI Department of Human Services
  • Kim O'Connell, Providence Public Schools
  • Meg O’Leary/Sarah Friedman, The Learning Community
  • Susan Orban, Washington County Coalition for Children
  • Carol Patnaude, Community College of Rhode Island
  • Trista Piccola, RI Department of Children, Youth and Families
  • Brenda Potter, Center for Early Learning Professionals
  • Larry Pucciarelli, Head Start Collaboration/RI Department of Human Services
  • Kayla Rosen, RI Children's Cabinet
  • Leslie Sevey, Rhode Island College
  • David Sienko, RI Department of Education
  • Michele Simpson, Cranston Public Schools
  • Mary Ann Snider, RI Department of Education
  • Beth Tanner, Central Falls Public Schools
  • Maggie Teller, The Children’s Workshop
  • Mary Varr, Woonsocket Head Start Child Development Association
  • Larry Warner, United Way of Rhode Island
Early Learning RI